Random Thoughts

Day 6 – On Being Old

Readers,

“Learning acquired in youth arrests the evil of old age; and if you understand that old age has wisdom for its food, you will so conduct yourself in youth that your old age will not lack for nourishment.” ~ Leonardo da Vinci

Today, no quote.  Instead, I just want to comment on something that has occurred to me over the past two days as I started back with my “normal” routine at work.  Breaking my ankle has given me a little different perspective on mobility.  After not being able to leave the house because I couldn’t drive, I understand the freedom that comes from being able to drive.  I understand why older people fight tooth and nail to keep their driver’s license even if they only drive once a week.  It’s not the fact that they really need to drive, it’s the fact that they can drive, whenever they want.

Another realization hit me as I was slowly crutching down the hallway of my hotel yesterday.  Being back to work full-time but still having to take it slow and always using crutches while walking has also shown me just how frustrating it is when you know that you used to be able to move sooo much more quickly but must now resign yourself to snail’s pace.  In my case, I know that it’s for a limited amount of time.  I feel so sorry for those, advanced in age, who know that there’s no going back.  Everything takes longer, sometimes ridiculously longer.  For instance, when I checked into the hotel it took me close to half an hour to get out of myself and my crutches out of the car, check in, carry my first bag to the room, crutch back out to the car, get my computer bag, and then crutch back to the room.  I was seriously so frustrated and worn out by the time I finally sat down in the room I wanted to throw my crutches through the window (but I didn’t.  Imagine how long it would take me to leave in the morning without crutches).

So the next time you’re confronted with a situation where a senior citizen may be in your way, please put yourself in their shoes.  Give them the extra few seconds it’ll take to get them from point A to point B.  They’re likely already frustrated and maybe even unhappy because they know they’re hindering your progress.  Being kind to them should be the natural reaction – not the opposite.

Cheers

~The Hatter

About The Mad Hatter

A little random, oftentimes heady, totally looking for purpose. I'm moved by topics across the board, sometimes focusing on reading classic literature or more recent philosophy; sometimes given to less productive impulses. In order to stay active, I've also just joined the Yahoo Contributor Network.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Day 6 – On Being Old

  1. Once again, I’m in complete agreement. My dad went through a period when he was in pain all the time, he’d wince and call out – and I actually got annoyed with him! And then, karma kicked my ass and out of the blue I started getting muscle cramps all over my body that would immobilize me. Sometimes, as hard as it is to realize, you must walk in another person’s shoes to truly understand what they’re experiencing. I was disappointed in myself for realizing that I wasn’t able to empathize until I experienced. Now I try extra hard. Thanks for the reminder!

    Posted by Girly | March 16, 2011, 10:34 pm
  2. Oh, duh… hit the post button too fast… sorry that you’re experiencing this pain but congrats for being on the move again!

    Posted by Girly | March 16, 2011, 10:36 pm

Leave a Reply

The Rabbit Hole

Join the Yahoo! Contributor Network

RSS Daily Poetry Fix

