Authors & Books, Random Thoughts

Borrowed Post On Finding Things in Books

Readers,

I came across this post about entitled Things I Find in Books, Part 1.  Give it a read.  Like the author, I also tend to buy used books – in fact I can’t bring myself to buy a full priced book anymore thanks to Half Priced Books being so near.

I’ve never found money in a book but I have been lucky enough to find a few random things in the well-worn pages of a few garage sale treasures, not including the faded brown boogers or questionable slightly curled hairs (I’m saying they’re arm hairs – that’s how I sleep at night).

To me, the best items I’ve found have been a couple of personal letters from the 50’s and 60’s that were hidden within the pages of a couple of Goodwill bought paperbacks.  There’s just something so intriguing about them.  In a way, they’re quick snippets of that era’s reality T.V.  Neither of them say anything monumental, but they both convey a level of courtesy, warmth, and love that is missing in most of the rhetoric.  Plus the penmanship of both, while the two are completely different, speaks to a time where style and readability were equally important.

Looks like I’ll be stopping by Goodwill tomorrow to browse the selection.

Cheers!

About The Mad Hatter

A little random, oftentimes heady, totally looking for purpose. I'm moved by topics across the board, sometimes focusing on reading classic literature or more recent philosophy; sometimes given to less productive impulses. In order to stay active, I've also just joined the Yahoo Contributor Network.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Borrowed Post On Finding Things in Books

  1. Faded Brown Boogers… worst band name ever.

    🙂

    I’ve never found such treasures such as letters but I do like it when people sign and date or inscribe books. You’re so right about penmanship – no one knows how to write anymore.

    Posted by Girly | April 5, 2011, 5:26 pm
  2. Hellooooooooo???

    Posted by Girly | June 19, 2011, 4:05 pm

Leave a Reply

The Rabbit Hole

Join the Yahoo! Contributor Network

RSS Daily Poetry Fix

