Creative Writing, Random Thoughts

Mad Hatter Miscellany – A New Start and a New Look for 2012

Readers,

I spent the majority of this past week thinking of what I hope to accomplish in 2012, both with my writing and life in general.  Some people make one resolution and try to stick with it throughout the year, but I’m more of a list person so I’ve made a list.  Yes, I included everything from my list.

  1. Worry about what I can affect, accept what I can’t.
  2. Get published at least once – whether it be a short story, poem, or any other creative work.
  3. Bench press my weight at least once (I used to be able to do 1.3 times my weight, years ago).
  4. Keep my blog updated with at least one post a week.
  5. Be a better brother and son.  Call my Mom and Sister at least once a week.
  6. Make 2 new, good friends.
  7. Travel to at least one new place, out of State, this year.
  8. Go to Church at least 3 times a month.

So far, I’ve already made changes to Mad Hatter Miscellany which should help me be a more consistent blogger.  It had gotten to the point where I was putting in a ton of time researching what I wanted to write about.  I wanted it to have a definite focus and eventually found myself with tunnel vision.  Going forward, it will continue to have a creative-writing focus, but I will also allow myself to go off on tangents.  You may see a post about a great short story followed by comments on investing.

I am about halfway through a new short story that I’ll be submitting to publishers as soon as all my revisions are done.  Wish me luck!

Lastly, thank you to anyone and everyone out there who take the time to support the writing community.  Most writers hold day jobs and hone their craft in their spare time, so taking the time to comment on a post or leave feedback in Amazon on one of their short stories or novels goes a long way.

Happy New Year and here’s to a great 2012!

Nick

About The Mad Hatter

A little random, oftentimes heady, totally looking for purpose. I'm moved by topics across the board, sometimes focusing on reading classic literature or more recent philosophy; sometimes given to less productive impulses. In order to stay active, I've also just joined the Yahoo Contributor Network.

Discussion

7 thoughts on “Mad Hatter Miscellany – A New Start and a New Look for 2012

  1. Another list maker, we are friends already! Good luck with your goals for 2012. They are all doable. After years of dreaming about it, I got a short story accepted in an anthology and things started moving ahead after that. Now I have 2 books published and working on a third. (Still working full time and tutoring part-time). Glad we have connected.

    Posted by Darlene | January 6, 2012, 12:50 pm
  2. Glad to hear the snowball started rolling for you. Mine is still taking shape but I’m hopeful. It could snowball as well or leave me with one ugly snowman – who knows…

    Either way, Congrats on getting published!

    Posted by The Mad Hatter | January 6, 2012, 5:29 pm
  3. Hi, I love your post! My goal also is to try to get my writing started again. I haven’t done anything in 10 yrs. Just settled into a regular job and my creative brain froze up. LOL. But, I always wonder what if? So, I’m really pushing myself this year to just focus and try to write anything again. Even if it’s just one story (hopefully more but, you get my drift.) So, far I have come up with an idea. Just working on my character sketch. It makes me feel better when I see posts like this knowing there are others out there with good advice and positive feedback. Good luck with your story.

    Posted by crystal | January 8, 2012, 7:11 pm
    • Thanks Crystal. It’s definitely a continual struggle but I’m very hopeful something will come out of it. It’s more of a personal goal right now rather than a career change or anything like that. But.. who knows. Good luck to you as well and thanks for the comment!

      Posted by The Mad Hatter | January 8, 2012, 7:30 pm
  4. It was interesting to see your reading list. Since you include a great deal of fantasy fiction, do you think this will be the direction you will choose when you write your short story? I must admit when I saw the excerpt from Emily D. I was hoping there would be a sprinkling from the Classics in your reading list. Perhaps this will be the year for you to introduce yourself to the authors everyone knows but seldom reads! Great blog Nick!

    Posted by Mamatina | February 19, 2012, 1:08 pm
    • Agreed. If for no other reason than personal growth, I’ll add a few classics to the mix. Since I’ve never read Bleak House, I’ll add that and my next read will be Quo Vadis. My writing so far has held steady in the fantasy genre, although I do have a few notes on other stories which are more literary fiction. I still greatly appreciate the escape to a completely fantastic world separate from our own which is why my writing and reading both lean that direction.

      Posted by The Mad Hatter | February 26, 2012, 5:18 pm
  5. Hey, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues.

    When I look at your blog site in Opera, it looks fine
    but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping.
    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, very good
    blog!

    Posted by 0 comments | May 3, 2013, 12:20 am

Leave a Reply

The Rabbit Hole

Join the Yahoo! Contributor Network

RSS Daily Poetry Fix

