Random Thoughts

Have You Ever Considered… The Trust We Hold in Our Community?

I spent much of this week trying to think of a topic for the next post in this series.  Then, as is typical, it hit me and was as clear as could be.  After having picked up my second coffee of the day from a fast-food drive-thru, the light bulb went off.

Almost every work day I trust other people, from the moment I leave my house to the minute I lock my front door at night.  What do I know about any of the people who make the food I buy; who share the road with me at 70+ miles an hour; who live their lives in the same world of semi-interaction?  And even more relevant, would I want to know more?

There’s a comfort that comes from ignorance which seems universal.  I’m a happier person because I’m able to let things go, trusting that those around me will act in a responsible fashion.  I trust that those who make my coffee in the morning aren’t adding in a bit of cat urine.  Those around me trust that I’m not going to test my crash-dummy skills on the highway.

Unfortunately, this trust is why some events are so quick to make the news.  When someone breaks that trust it’s a temporary shock to the system.  Think of the stunned silence that rolled across the country after Gabby Giffords‘ shooting.  However, even when someone breaks the trust in as emphatic and tragic a manner as Giffords’ shooter, we still fall quickly back into the same trust we held before, with a slightly more cautious manner.

Just for a moment, think of all the things we trust others to handle.  Don’t dwell too long though, paranoia is no one’s friend.

“There is no way to be completely happy without being oblivious to the world around you.” ~ Maredith Close

About The Mad Hatter

A little random, oftentimes heady, totally looking for purpose. I'm moved by topics across the board, sometimes focusing on reading classic literature or more recent philosophy; sometimes given to less productive impulses. In order to stay active, I've also just joined the Yahoo Contributor Network.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Have You Ever Considered… The Trust We Hold in Our Community?

  1. Or if you want to take it to the extreme, how do you know that your brain, interpreting all the external signals to create what we see, hear, feel, is even interpreting them in a way that what we see is congruent with reality? Not only do we trust everyone else…we trust ourselves :S

    Posted by Lisa Taylor | February 18, 2012, 10:19 am
    • Lisa… very nice! That reminds me a little of an article I read by Stephen Hawking. It talks about goldfish, and how their view of the world is distorted by their fish bowl and yet if they were intelligent creatures they could still formulate scientific theory based on what they see. It took me a little while to find it but here’s the article http://www.time.com/time/arts/article/0,8599,2017262,00.html

      Posted by The Mad Hatter | February 19, 2012, 8:31 am
      • Neat article! I’m definitely a fan of Stephen Hawking. I had a dream once that I was being taken to another planet, and the intelligent race that had evolved there lived underwater. The entire planet was one giant ocean. They had built floating platforms though so other species could come to their planet and learn about their culture. In my dream I was reading a book in total fascination that described how their conception of science had evolved so totally different from ours. Their physical constants were different, they of course had never invented electronics because they lived in water, but instead had discovered other scientific principles with which to build technology that humans had never conceived of. All because they evolved in a medium of water and we evolved in a medium of air. It was just a dream, but it gave me something interesting to think about 🙂

        Posted by Lisa Taylor | February 24, 2012, 3:22 pm

Leave a Reply

The Rabbit Hole

Join the Yahoo! Contributor Network
