Creative Writing, Random Thoughts

Comfort in Fog – Thoughts

Nebbia / Fog

Have you ever driven on a foggy day, the world outside reduced to what you can see a few meters from your hood?  That was me today.

It was almost as if the fog lay waiting.  As I left the main highway, following the curve of the road, it bulged from behind a small smattering of trees, quickly enveloping me in its embrace.  Fingers of mist danced around me, the trees sparkling in the morning haze.  You could almost see them smile.

The weight of deadlines and appointments was still there, but it was almost as if the fog had a density great enough to block out everything except what was held within my small space.  The twin beacons of fellow travelers passed slowly through my kingdom, paths crossing in separate worlds.  I have no doubt that had I reached my hand out, I could have given the hazy grey morning a squeeze.

A calmness, pure serenity came with that mystical embrace.  There’s comfort in silence so peaceful.  It left me smiling – just me – happy and grateful for all the gifts I’ve been given.

I hope everyone has the chance to get lost in the fog sometimes.

About The Mad Hatter

A little random, oftentimes heady, totally looking for purpose. I'm moved by topics across the board, sometimes focusing on reading classic literature or more recent philosophy; sometimes given to less productive impulses. In order to stay active, I've also just joined the Yahoo Contributor Network.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

The Rabbit Hole

Join the Yahoo! Contributor Network

RSS Daily Poetry Fix

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
