Book Review

Animal Farm – Quick Review and Thoughts Part 1

Animal Farm

Animal Farm (Photo credit: Ben Templesmith)

I started and finished George Orwell‘s Animal Farm a couple of weeks ago, through a library loaned audio book, but am just now finding the time to write about it.  Have I mentioned the I love the ecollection from the library?

Anyway – Animal Farm.  GREAT book!  4 out of 5 stars on my Goodreads.  Apparently most of America read this early in life, but it was never required reading during school for me so it took me a little longer to find it.  It’s a very quick story which I could see appealing to younger crowds for the simple reason that it focuses on a group of farm animals that revolt and create their own farming community.  However, there are so many societal and philosophical questions throughout the book, both subtle and some not so subtle, that I found myself taking notes on my thoughts.  It’s the first time I can remember a book, which wasn’t required reading, stirring such a reflective mood.

I’ll use the next few posts to review my overall thoughts, some of which may seem more of a rambling than anything else since I’m not sure I actually found any conclusive feelings to any of the themes I found within the book.  Themes such as

  • Society’s putting too much value on intelligence.
  • Does higher levels of intelligence open a person to more opportunities in life and if so, is that actually a good thing?
  • Does high intelligence automatically lead to abuse of those of lower levels?
  • Is capitalism a foregone conclusion?  If so, is that a good thing?
  • Are we destined to always separate ourselves into classes, whether that be social, political, or ethnic?

For those interested in watching a film version, here is a classic animated version of Animal Farm.

More to come…

About The Mad Hatter

A little random, oftentimes heady, totally looking for purpose. I'm moved by topics across the board, sometimes focusing on reading classic literature or more recent philosophy; sometimes given to less productive impulses. In order to stay active, I've also just joined the Yahoo Contributor Network.

Discussion

One thought on “Animal Farm – Quick Review and Thoughts Part 1

  1. I’ve never read this book and don’t think I ever will. I know it’s famous but I find it unattractive.
    Your questions about the effects of intelligence are interesting. I’m inclined to think it’s character that matters more. I hope you get around to writing the ramblings, I’d like to read them.

    Posted by E A M Harris | August 6, 2012, 3:38 pm

Leave a Reply

The Rabbit Hole

Join the Yahoo! Contributor Network

RSS Daily Poetry Fix

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
