Random Thoughts

Coffee – Random Thoughts

Coffee makes us severe, and grave, and philosophical.  ~ Jonathan Swift

For some people its music, possibly of any persuasion.  For others its more meditative – yoga and such.  For me, undoubtedly, it’s coffee that calms me.

In my line of work, there are days where I’ll spend 6 hours or more on the road, with a few stops mixed in between.  And there’s no better company and no better way to wake up in the morning than with a little java and some talk radio.English: Cute coffee.

There’s a certain calmness that hits at around 7:30 each morning.  By then I’m normally out of traffic and several miles down the highway and whichever coffee I’ve bought that morning – whether it be Starbucks, McDonald’s, or gas station coffee – it’s finally cool enough to drink without scalding my tongue.  And the beauty is that it’s still too early for any phone calls.

The nice thing is that its become something that I go to whenever the day gets long or especially taxing.  On hot days – Hello iced coffee.  On stressful days – Grande Pike’s with sugar-free hazelnut.

Understanding that my morning routine is somewhat confined by four wheels and a windshield, and reading back through where this post has gone, I think I am a coffee addict.

Oh well, I’m facing a 300 mile day tomorrow.  So I’ll be seeing the smiling faces at the exit 14 McDonald’s once again – coffee black.

For an interesting read, check out The Women’s Petition Against Coffee.  “Coffee leads men to trifle away their time, scald their chops, and spend their money, all for a little base, black, thick, nasty, bitter, stinking nauseous puddle water.”  There’s some truth there, to be sure.

About The Mad Hatter

A little random, oftentimes heady, totally looking for purpose. I'm moved by topics across the board, sometimes focusing on reading classic literature or more recent philosophy; sometimes given to less productive impulses. In order to stay active, I've also just joined the Yahoo Contributor Network.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment

The Rabbit Hole

Join the Yahoo! Contributor Network